::Departments : Supers Specilities : Neuro Surgery
Department of Neurosurgery, TMCH, Thanjavur.
The Department of Neurosurgery was established in 1967 so as to cater the neurosurgical needs of the semi urban and rural population of around 8 districts predominantly to serve the people in the delta regions in central Tamilnadu. It serves as the tertiary referral center for the medical facilities in and around Thanjavur with a daily admission of about 40 to 50 critical Head Injury patients and functions as a 24/7 trauma center providing comprehensive neuro intensive care and emergency surgical management.
The Department provides outpatient services including sub specialty clinics in all facets of neurosurgery like neuro oncology, pediatric neurosurgery, spine clinics, neurovascular and skull base throughout the week. Average outpatients statistics is 1100 per month.  In-patient care with 120 beds (of which around 30 ICU beds) intensive and all round neurosurgical care. The bed occupancy is 100% most of the time.  In spite of severe manpower and infrastructural constraints an average of 8 to 10 major elective neurosurgical procedures 15-20 emergencies are carried out on a weekly basis.
These include complex surgeries including microneurosurgery, aneurysmal clipping, tumor resection surgeries in the brain and cerebellar region, cranio vertebral junction anomalies, spine instrumentation procedures, neuroendoscopic surgical procedures like ETV (Endovascular Third Ventriculostomy), ventricular tumor resection, endonasal surgical procedures like pituitary adenoma, Craniopharyngioma excisions and endoscopic assisted skull base & Neurovascular surgeries literally covering the whole gamut of modern neuosurgical procedures.
The infrastructural and equipment facilities include neurosurgical operating microscopes, neuroendoscopes, image intensifiers, ultrasonic surgical aspirators, high speed drill system,Mayfield head restraint system, Leyla Brain retractor system with a scope for further improvement in the form of neuromonitoring equipments, and neuronavigation instruments proposed to be included in thenear future.
The Department at present has a faculty strength that includes one Professor, two Associate Professors and three Assistant Professors with two full fledged units for optimum neurosurgical care. At present the Department has a successful 3 year resident program for M.Ch (Neurosurgery) which was started with 1 resident per year in 2011 and has now blossomed with an intake of 4 residents per year from the year 2019. The Department has a structured teaching program for the residents and has been regularly publishing papers in various neurosurgical forums and international and national journals.
The Department has been nurtured and developed by strenuous efforts and farsighted programs executed by various stalwarts in the field of neurosurgery who have contributed their utmost over the years since 1967 in various capacities.
With the addition of the state of the art Neuro ICU and Operation theater suite and wards in the newly built PMSSY Facility the Department is poised for an epoch making expansion in the near future so as to fulfill the long cherished goal of growth into an Institute of Excellence in Neurosurgical care and academic work at par with the international standards.
Successive Heads Of the Department are:
Name Name
Prof. Dr. R. Narayanan Prof. Dr. Jothiramalingam
Prof. Dr. R. Govindhan Prof. V. K. Rajagopal
Prof. Dr. Ramachandran Prof. Dr. V. Sundar
Prof. Dr. Subburam Prof. Dr. R. Elangovan
Prof. Dr. Aathiyappan Prof. Dr. G. Laxmipathy
Prof. Dr. R. Nandha Kumar Prof. Dr. C. Ramasamy
Passed out M.Ch., PGs:
Name Year
Dr. P. Muthuraman August-2014
Dr. S. Senthamaraikannan August-2015
Dr. S. Ramesh August-2016
 Dr. C. Mayilan August-2018
Dr. R. Hariharasudan August-2019
Dr.Bibhuti Bhusan Das August-2021

          Professor & HOD            :       Prof.Dr.A.Mathiyash Arthur M.Ch.,

          Associate Professors      :         Prof.Dr.G.M.Niban D.Ortho.,MS.MCh.,
                                                           Prof.Dr.V.Dhandayuthapani DA.,MS.MCh.,

          Assistant Professors       :         Dr.J.Rajarajan MS.MCh.,
                                                          Dr.A.Stalin Rajkumar MS.M.Ch.,

          Senior Residents 2019     :      Dr.K.Rajarajan MS.,
                                                          Dr.Abhishek Mondal MS.,
                                                          Dr.V.S.Saravanan MS.,
                                                          Dr.A.Kiran Kumar MS.,

          Senior Residents 2020     :      Dr.Darshan.B MS.,
                                                          Dr.M.Karthick MS.,
                                                          Dr.Sachin Biradar MS.,
                                                          Dr.Tanzir.A.S MS.,

Designed & Developed by

This site can be best viewed in 1024x768 screen resolution.